“They Suck”

Disappointment was on my mind this morning. I think my sentiments could be characterized as more than just disappointment, however. I think, as the title indicates, there was some judgment going on in my head towards these particular individuals.

Judgment, of course, wasn’t something that Jesus was particularly excited about when he condemned it. Indeed, he promised that those who judged, would be judged themselves.

There’s an interesting way to appropriate these remarks (even if I don’t believe in the big divine clean-up) that I hadn’t thought of before.

Here is a closer look at Jesus’ words,

Matthew 7: 1 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. 2 For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

What’s interesting about the verse is that it doesn’t mention who will be doing the measuring and judging. Of course, it seems like the most likely interpretation would claim that Jesus is saying that God will be doing measuring and judging. A less likely (but still plausible) interpretation would be to say that others will be doing the measuring and judging. The least likely interpretation, in my opinion, would state that Jesus is referring to us judging ourselves.

It matters not what interpretation is more likely, however. Exegesis is not the goal here. The text is a spring board to explore something else. In this case, the relationship between my judgment of others and my insecurities about myself is a point of interest.

I’ve been particularly insecure about my “spiritual practices” lately. I often feel like I have to appear to be super-Christian around people. This is pretty crappy. What this post makes me wonder, is if this insecurity is somehow tied to my judgment of other Christians and their lack of Jesus-esque behavior.

Yep. There’s probably a link here. There have been times when I have judged people based on how I perceived their intelligence, and at those times I have been insecure about my intelligence. There have been times when I have judged people based on their physical fitness, and at those times I have been insecure about my physical fitness.

“With the measure you use, it will be measured to you…[by you!]”

By judging others, I’m building a prison. I am enslaving myself to projections of self-judgments onto others. I am failing to see the image of God in others and I am rushing towards the hell of separation from the Divine itself and the imagine of the Divine in others.

God, I want to know You. Help me to see the inevitable slavery of insecurity that I will find myself in if I continue to judge. Instead, help me to see the good and the bad in others, but to attend to the bad in a caring and careful manner.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Me, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

