Graduate School

Because of this post, I tagged this paragraph on the end of my statement of purpose for my graduate program:

Although it is sometimes psychologically stressful (…), there is something salvivic about the study of religion, ethics, and philosophy. Perhaps this is because they all strive to describe the Good, the True, and the Beautiful. At the risk of seeming metaphysically mawkish, my ultimate purpose in studying religion, ethics, and philosophy could be seen as an attempt to find this divine trio (the Good, the True, and the Beautiful) in my studies and to be transformed by it for the better.

This paragraph doesn’t really live up to the prescriptions I was discovering in “The Bishop” post earlier last week. The issue was that I was running out of space. It was a practical issue.

This conflict (between practical concern and expression of my identity) is likely to pop up again and again over the next 6 years. How, then, should I deal with it?

First words that come to mind, “they will know that you are my disciples by your love.” This love, however, must be translated into words and actions. Am I willing to perform these actions when they conflict with practical concerns? This, perhaps, is a balloon-like dilemma: putting myself in a position where harm (less than ideal outcomes) will occur or continue with convention.

This struggle is so perennial that its almost boring to think about. When it comes down to it, I think I just need the strength to not be a patsy and to follow Jesus.

This entry was posted in School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

